Canadian skater Commits Suicide After Bullying | Page 4 | Golden Skate

Canadian skater Commits Suicide After Bullying

dorispulaski

Wicked Yankee Girl
Country
United-States
Good on Katarina Witt!

"We have a code of conduct, and any situation that we disapprove of, we have set procedures and deal with," said Israel Bordanich, assistant superintendent of North Rockland County School District.

Clearly then, Asst. Superintendent Bordanich approves of one boy holding another down so a third boy can kick him in the butt, damaging him severely.

Poodlepal

On the Ice
In the Asian country that I grew up in, we had bullying. However, we also had (and continue to have) teachers who were the final word on discipline at school. Sure, you can bully the other kids, but if they tell on you, or the teacher catches you, you are pretty much toast.

Exactly. I am a teacher in NJ, where there are strict bullying laws, enacted by a Republican governor. If there weren't these standards, kids would not be punished for bullying or anything else much, really. I had a student mouth off at me pretty bad two weeks ago. I sent her to the principal, expecting that she would give her detention or an in-school suspension. Nothing. I had to file a bullying report, saying that she had humiliated me and intimidated me (which is true), in order to get her even the most minor punishment. Last year a girl shook her fist in another girl's face, and if it weren't for the bullying complaint, nothing would have happened to her.

Interestingly, some left-wing people hate the bullying law because they hate the governor (for reasons unrelated to bullying, mostly due to budget cuts), and are now saying that bullying is normal and healthy and you need to be subjected to it in order to find your place in the world, etc. Some education teacher said that at lunch at a meeting and I wanted to smack him.