Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: When has a country not sent a full team?

  1. #1
    Custom Title heyang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    3,226

    When has a country not sent a full team?

    Since placements are so important at World's, I was wondering what countries have not sent a 'full' team to avoid losing spots.

    I vaguely recall that one country was able to send 2 ladies to World's, but decided to only send 1. Their thought was that the combined placements of the 2 would cause them to lose a spot the following year, whereas the likely final placement of their top lady only would ensure that they could maintain 2 spots.

    I'm not even sure if this would be allowed - to have only 1 skater to keep 2 spots. If one had to withdraw during competition, I could see how it could legitimately happen. Otherwise, i'm not sure if the rules would even allow it.

    Does anyone else recall this?

  2. #2
    Custom Title antmanb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    UK - Manchester
    Posts
    4,913
    Quote Originally Posted by heyang
    Since placements are so important at World's, I was wondering what countries have not sent a 'full' team to avoid losing spots.

    I vaguely recall that one country was able to send 2 ladies to World's, but decided to only send 1. Their thought was that the combined placements of the 2 would cause them to lose a spot the following year, whereas the likely final placement of their top lady only would ensure that they could maintain 2 spots.

    I'm not even sure if this would be allowed - to have only 1 skater to keep 2 spots. If one had to withdraw during competition, I could see how it could legitimately happen. Otherwise, i'm not sure if the rules would even allow it.

    Does anyone else recall this?
    I would have thought that the tactic is fairly self defeating...why would you worry about keeping the 2nd spot if you're not going to send anyone to take that 2nd spot? Unless you have a very weak field and the potential second skater or team is/are not skating their best but they'll be up to scratch next year?

    Not sure how good the tactic is.

    Ant

  3. #3
    Just an average girl
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    361
    This doesn't apply in the Olympics. Unlike Worlds, Olympic placements don't carry forward to the future.

    However, some countries refuse to send skaters because they know they won't do well. Great Britain did that in 1998. Their skaters qualified in all four events, but only Steven Cousins went to Nagano.

    Several countries kept skaters home for SLC.

  4. #4
    Go NJ Devils
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    2,700
    Olympic placements are applicable only to that Olympics. There are no carryovers. Some placements are earned from the prior year's World Championships, and the rest from Karl Schaeffer the prior fall. If the countries that originally qualified do not send a full regiment, the alternates are asked. If not enough alternates say "yes," fewer skaters compete.

    The only way losing a spot for Worlds the following year could be if they send no one, since the maximum number of points that a competitor can earn is 20, which qualifies the country for one skater. Even if none is sent, I don't think there is a barrier to sending a skater to future Worlds.

    Sending a single skater to "save" two spaces for Worlds -- maybe there's an up-and-coming junior in the ranks who's not quite ready, a skater who is injured (like Efremenko), or someone who doesn't yet age qualify -- makes sense only if the top skater is expected to make top 10, but could place in 9th or 10th. Anything up to 8th place plus a skater who doesn't make it out of quali rounds is 28, which qualifies for two skaters the next year.

  5. #5
    Custom Title
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,356
    Was there one year Japan send only Takashi Honda in hope he medalling that they can have 2 or 3 spots next worlds?

  6. #6
    Go NJ Devils
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    2,700
    Quote Originally Posted by mzheng
    Was there one year Japan send only Takashi Honda in hope he medalling that they can have 2 or 3 spots next worlds?
    If the rules at the time were the same as they are now, sending only Honda for

    1) 2 spots: They thought he'd make top 10, but not necessarily top 8

    2) 3 spots: They thought he had a good chance of being top 2. If there is only one skater in the competition, a top 2 finish earns 3 spots.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •