Joining USFSA | Golden Skate

Joining USFSA

doubleaxel

Rinkside
I am practically 12 years old and I love skating, so recently I've been thinking of joining USFSA (or maybe ISI, I don't know.) I am skating for eight months and I have self-taught myself the toe loop, salchow, scratch and sit spins. My flip and loop aren't very consistent though and don't have much height. Recently I went to my first group class, called the "Junior Champions" (what a false, false name) and guess what?! It's PATHETIC. They are "teaching" me three turns and a T-stop. :( I am trying to tell the skating director that those elements are way too easy for me but he's like "You're being too hard on yourself." WHAT? I am just skating how I normally skate. I hoped I was going to work on combination jumps and Lutzes, but all I see here so far doesn't even go further than forward crossrolls. (The kids in my class skate backward with great difficulty.) = /

I've been trying to ask the skating director and my "coach," but they wouldn't even listen:

1. How does the USFSA thing work?
2. How do I get put into a level?
3. What about a coach, competition, and expenses?
4. What level would I be in? (I can do forward and backward swingrolls, forward and backward spirals, waltz jumps, toe loops, salchows, flip and loop unconsistently, sratch and sit spin.")

If anybody has any suggestions, please, please answer!! Thank you so much for reading this and taking your time. <3 Sasha

Last edited:

backspin

On the Ice
Anyone can join the USFSA. You do that by either joining your local figure skating club (the membership is usually included USFSA membership), or you can be an individual member. Personally I think it's easier to be a club member, as that has other perks, like first chance at test sessions and access to club practice ice.