Different Styles | Golden Skate

Different Styles

gio

Medalist
I have a little question for the experts, that I can't answer by myself (I'm no expert;) ).
I know that in other sports we can speak of different regional schools, or styles (example = in Gymnastic we have the American style and the Chinese style). Do you think that we can speak of different geographical schools also in FS? Do you think that there are certain characteristics that are present in the majority of skaters from one country or region? For example, can you say that Irina Slutskaya or Elena Sokolova are Russians just after you have seen a program of them? Can you see similarities between them in certain characteristic (in elements and artistic presentation)?

Last edited:

antmanb

Record Breaker
I think that the basic skating skills of the Russian Pairs (and ice dancers) really does stand out).

Apparently the more knowledgabe can spot the difference between St Petersberg pairs and Moscow pairs, apparently the technique on the split twist lifts are different.

As for other nationalities i think you can normally spot the French Men a mile away. Joubert is the exception to the rule but most other frenchmen really perform on the ice, be it in an extrovert way (preaubert, tobel, candeloro) or in a softer more lyrical way (jeanette and another skater who's name escapes me). Watch out for Klimkin though because i think he skates very much in the style of a lyrical introverted french skater.

Ant

antmanb

Record Breaker
I'm not sure about the american and Japanese skaters. I can't say that i've seen much of a similarity between the Japanese men, although both Takahashi and Oda have good musicality when their on, Takahashi is too hit and miss with the elements and really lets its affect his performance and last year Oda was just too juniorish for my taste, but i've not seen him yet this year.