Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Video Thread 4: Switching to DVD Recording

  1. #1
    Down With It
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,538

    Video Thread 4: Switching to DVD Recording

    I just took the plunge and bought a DVD recorder after using my VCR/camcorder for years to record and archive skating footage on my computer (in various formats). This produced the best possible quality and was easy to share with people and watch on my computer whenever I wanted to (as well as allowed me to make screencaps). I think that starting with Sunday's broadcast of the GPF, I will no longer use this method but will just record straight to DVD. I have less time nowadays, and I don't feel as invested in skating to take the time I did in the past to make computer recordings. I may still use the old method for certain shows, but until HDTV becomes the standard (can't wait!!!) I think this is how I will do things. However, this wasn't the main reason I bought the DVD (it's just miles better than VHS, that's all), but now that I have it, it makes sense just to do it this way- and I'll still be able to watch it on my computer.

    I will explore to see if I can pick the files off the DVD to edit on my computer, though. Once I do that I will post how that goes.
    Last edited by R.D.; 12-22-2006 at 12:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Down With It
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,538
    It worked...and guess what I picked up while flipping through commercials...Belbin and Agosto's new Acuvue commercial

    If you wish to see the video I created check out the Edge thread:

    http://www.goldenskate.com/forum/sho...133#post217133
    Last edited by R.D.; 12-22-2006 at 02:17 PM.

  3. #3
    MY TVC 1 5 SeaniBu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Watching the Wheels
    Posts
    4,984
    Thanks RD, good to have your feedback on the DVD recorder.

  4. #4
    Figure Skating Is A Dangerous Sport Dee4707's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    16,671
    RD, I tried to post this yesterday and got bumped out, some message about the server. Anyhow, I've had my dvd recorder for about a year now and like it very much. I would record survivor and then a group of us would watch it on our company's 8 ft screen. The colors are more vivid and shaper than vhs.

    I do have a question ...... how are you able to transfer from dvd to your computer?? I know that you can watch a dvd on the computer but how are you transfering your files onto the computer???

    Dee

  5. #5
    Down With It
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,538
    I put the DVD in my drive, open it using Windows Explorer and drag the corresponding .vob files (these are the actual MPEG2 video files) to my desktop. I then use VirtualDub MPEG2 1.6.15, which can read .vob files, cut and trim the part I want, and then export it to AVI using whatever codec is available (VFW).

  6. #6
    Figure Skating Is A Dangerous Sport Dee4707's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    16,671
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Dog View Post
    II then use VirtualDub MPEG2 1.6.15, which can read .vob files, cut and trim the part I want, and then export it to AVI using whatever codec is available (VFW).
    Is VirtualDub a free program?? I think I told you that I upload mine to a movie maker program to edit.

    Dee

  7. #7
    Down With It
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,538
    Yes, it's free...and aside from a couple of bugs it's rather good.

  8. #8
    MY TVC 1 5 SeaniBu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Watching the Wheels
    Posts
    4,984
    What's with the VFW, I thought you were a H264 fan???? j/k

    Here is a serious Q, have you found that if you delete the original files (package) before saving them to the "video editing app" that you loose the sound?

    I had grabbed .vob s before and deleted / ejected the original file before I saved the "new" project and would get no sound. But if I left it on the desktop until I exported the newly edited vid from the app to the desktop I still had sound. Haven't tried the other since the first time I figured it out, but am wondering if you ever had that .vob no sound issue?

  9. #9
    Down With It
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,538
    Quote Originally Posted by SeaniBu View Post
    What's with the VFW, I thought you were a H264 fan???? j/k
    No, VFW is just the version of the codec needed to work with virtualdub. For instance, I have the Xvid FVW and the H264 VFW.

    Here is a serious Q, have you found that if you delete the original files (package) before saving them to the "video editing app" that you loose the sound?

    I had grabbed .vob s before and deleted / ejected the original file before I saved the "new" project and would get no sound. But if I left it on the desktop until I exported the newly edited vid from the app to the desktop I still had sound. Haven't tried the other since the first time I figured it out, but am wondering if you ever had that .vob no sound issue?
    I think you might have an audio codec missing. Maybe you need an AC3 decoder?

  10. #10
    Down With It
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13,538
    OK, just finalized the GPF disc. Only recorded the Ladies but used XP (1hr) mode to maximize the quality (the ladies were on for the last 45 min. or so). I love the way it creates a "mini-menu" and allows you to give the different titles names. I titled the disc and the titles so it appears when you insert the disc into a DVD player.

    Well, me like so far. Unfortunately my DVD doesn't allow me to edit out commercials on a DVD-R disc (which I used) so I just used the old-fashioned "start-stop" recording feature to eliminate the commercial breaks. This also means that each title has one skater on it as well, so gave those names too. I like this.

    But- the first time I played the disc on my computer it was stuttering a bit. I don't think it's the DVD recorder or the disc because it seemed to play OK on the TV (and the skippings are inconsistent, i.e. not in the same place every time) so I think it's my computer. Might have to restart, sigh.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •