Thread: double salchow

On the Ice

double salchow

I've been skating for 4 to 5 years and I am in ISI-level 4 but I have my lutz. When I was at a party, a family friend asked if I was working on my double sal. Isaid no, but then I realized that a double sal is "normal" for skaters who have been skating as long as I have as often as I have. If i asked mycoach about it she would probably think I'm crazy.

Still...anyone know of any floor exercises that would increase power and speed, and ability to rotate?

Always Dream
    I am in Freestyle 3, and my coach has got me working on the double sal. I just practice a lot off ice, pulling in harder and harder, and I bend my knees when I am about to jump to get more height. I have it perfectly off ice. It takes some pratice to do it. You should ask your coach about it since you are in Freestyle 4. One of my friends in FS 4 is working on the double flip. If you have a really good salchow then your coach should let you try a double.

Custom Title
    Double Sal in Freestlye 3!! Wow. I'm in 6 and its still my least consistent jump (the only time I can land it more than twice in a row is when I'm on the harness)
    But as far as floor exercises, try standing standing one way, bend your knees, and do a "wind - up" where you just pull as tight as you can while in the air. You may fall, but I've found that seeing how many revolutions I can get has actually inproved this jump in addition to the loop.
    Laura

On the Ice
    whoa!!!! a double in freestyle 3?!! I know a girl in FS 5 that's doing the double salchow, but not 3! I'm in freestyle 4, and my single salchow is my worst jump. yuck... i hate salchows. but good for you!!!! wowwww!!!!!!!

Always Dream