From the GS Newsletter, there was some discussion on how Amber was judged for her 'attempted' triple flip. She had been marked down for underrotating it to the point it was called a double flip when she was further marked down for overrotating it.
In other words, two knockdowns for one jump.
There will be many skaters who will be faced with this dilemna in future competitions. It doesn't matter who does that exactly. The point is, it was and it was marked down twice for two different jumps when her intention was just one jump. Should that be? I could give an opinion like it was all wrong to mark down twice, but if there is a good rationale here, I would like to know what it is.
And then, what happens when a skater does a 'flutz' instead of a lutx. Should the skater be marked down for the missed lutz and credited for a true flip if and only if there is no other flip in the routine? Just inequiring.