I was among those who thought this was a miscall; however, Ptichka looked up the rule, which says that the second time a triple or quad jump is repeated, if it was performed both times as a solo jump, the second attempt is considered part of a missed combo, and the skater receives credit for one jump only. This is true even if the skater didn't fall and/or didn't attempt to create a combo or sequence. If a triple or quad is repeated a third time, then the skater receives no credit for it.Originally posted by Nadine
By the way, about a month or two ago, Joesitz (a favorite poster of mine by far, whom I search out posts for b/c of his intelligence & sense of humor and that undeniable something, genuine kindness, who knows, even though I don't always agree with him) pointed out in a thread somewhere on Golden Skate that the caller at one of Sasha's competitions was Russian and a friend of TT (another Russian) and that perhaps that might have influenced a controversial call on one of her combos.....something about calling her 3Z a combo. even though she obviously didn't have one........anyhow, since then that has had me wondering.
By that rule the call was correct, not a mistake or favor to Cohen.