Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: CoP question

  1. #1
    Custom Title Mathman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    28,178

    CoP question

    1. If a skater does

    3T
    3T+2T
    3Lz+3T

    does he get credit for the Lutz?

    2. If he does

    3T
    3T+2T
    3Lz
    3Lz+3T

    now how is it scored?

  2. #2
    Custom Title
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    756
    Er ... why wouldn't you score them as they are written?

  3. #3
    More or less: more is more sequinsgalore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,704
    I'm quite sure the last jumping element in both cases gets zero points and fills out at jump box.

  4. #4
    Custom Title
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    3,831
    I agree with sequinsgalore -- no credit for the element.

    The reason, brightphoton, is that the skater is only allowed to do two triple toes. The 3Lz-3T is the third time s/he does 3T, so it gets no credit. Under the current rules, it invalidates the whole element, so no credit for the lutz either.

    Back at 2005 Worlds, Irina Slutskaya made a similar mistake. She did a 3Lz+3Lo combo, a solo 3Lo, and finally a 3Lo+2Lo combo.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zek69FhRfBc

    That's three triple loops. The rules at the time didn't specify how to handle that situation. So she got credit for the 2Lo in that last combo, but no credit for the third 3Lo.

    After that season, the rules were changed to specifically invalidate the whole element.

    (In Mathman's examples, the 3Lz plays the same role as the 2Lo in Slutskaya's program. In 2005, the skater would have gotten credit for it, but not for the accompanying 3T.)
    Last edited by gkelly; 02-02-2011 at 09:40 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •