Why do I get so upset? | Golden Skate

Why do I get so upset?

EmilySkates

Spectator
Hello! I'm new here, so if this topic belongs anywhere else, feel free to move it.
My name is Emily and I'm 17. I've been skating for a few months now and I do 2 lessons a week, I also have 11 years of ballet training.
Right now, I am working on toeloops and scratch spins, and I am finding that I am getting EXTREMELY frustrated with myself when I practice without my coach. Mainly because of spins. My lesson on Teusday focused on crossing my leg over in my spins, and I've been trying to practice it, but I see NO improvement. Today, when I went to practice, I worked as hard as I could and still, nothing gets easier.
I was just wondering why I am not seeing any improvement, and how I can keep from getting so upset, sometimes to the point of crying, on the ice. How should I structure my practices, and what can I do to help my spins? I find it hard to cross my leg over, and I find myself falling to my inside edge a lot.

Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks xx

Hi Emily. I am not a skater, so I do not have any advice. But I can welcome you to Golden Skate! :rock: Thanks for joining us. Post often, post long! :)

silverpond

On the Ice
Give yourself time, Emily. It sounds as though you're determined to become a proficient figure skater, and your years of dance training will be helpful to you, I'm sure.

ENJOY yourself, and much success!!!

Scout

Final Flight