• above all don't exploit their talents

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • all of the above

Votes: 14 46.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

rtureck

Final Flight
Last year Scott Williams said, "Michelle is already a piece of art, I just need to adjust the lighting a bit"

Now according to Hersh Article:

"Anybody would be surprised," Arutunian said in his self-taught, still developing English. "It's Michelle Kwan, right? Everyone wants to just talk with her, and I'm working with her. I think I am the luckiest man in the world."

I wish coaches should just treat their star pupil as just another student. I am not saying Scott Williams or Arutunian was/ is not.
http://chicagosports.chicagotribune.com/services/site/premium/access-registered.intercept

In mid-November, Kwan took her boots to Rafael Arutunian, a figure skating coach with a cobbler's skills. Arutunian made some adjustments and watched her skate. Then he made more adjustments, watched her skate again and made some suggestions about technique. More adjustments, more suggestions.

After several sessions, Kwan asked Arutunian if he would like to help fix her skating as well as her skates. He was stunned.

"Anybody would be surprised," Arutunian said in his self-taught, still developing English. "It's Michelle Kwan, right? Everyone wants to just talk with her, and I'm working with her. I think I am the luckiest man in the world."

Arutunian, 46, who previously had coached in Russia and his native Armenia, moved to Lake Arrowhead with Abt before the last Olympic season. The talented but famously inconsistent Abt had the best results of his career in 2002--second in the European championships, fourth at worlds, fifth in the Olympics. Then Abt returned to Russia, apparently leaving his skills behind.

"He didn't stay here because of stupid," said Arutunian, not one to sugarcoat an opinion.