The same Russian man must skate both the SP and the LP -- per the rules for the Sochi team event. (I assume PTF is referring to the Sochi team event. I can't think of any other imminent team event.)
Originally Posted by pangtongfan
Only the one man on Team Russia who will skate in the individual men's competition is allowed to skate in the Sochi team event. NO additional man is permitted.
(The Olympic rules allow the possibility of additional team skaters only if a country did not qualify for any slots in the individual competition for the discipline.)
In other words, the rules make PTF's plan impossible.
(Sorry, I have not read the entire thread, but did not want PTF's misconception to be perpetuated.)
, to be crystal clear:
IF Russia had qualified for two or three entries in the individual competition for the men's discipline, then PTF's plan would have been feasible.
I know that the rules for the team event have been discussed ad nauseam in other threads, but PTF's post indicates that they have not sunk in thoroughly for everyone yet .