*WARNING* Stupid Question... | Golden Skate

*WARNING* Stupid Question...

Doggygirl

Record Breaker
....about the Qualifying skate...

I've watched figure skating and been a fan for years (never done it myself) and have never bothered to seek out the details on what exactly is involved in the qualifying skate. i.e. how long is it, what (if any) are the required elements, etc. etc. Is it a different program from the SP or LP, or a presentation of one of those? I think the purpose is connected with skate orders (or groupings) for the SP but I might even be wrong on that.

I can't believe I've been watching skating this long and never bothered to figure it out. I guess that's because it's never televised or talked about much on TV and this is my first year "lurking" on the net boards.

Thanks,
DG

Last edited:

Rosaleen

Medalist
The skaters skate their long program and it's worth 20% of the total -- Q-20%, Short-30%, Free-50%

Q's elminate the bottom skaters -- the top 15 in each group advance to the short, and then the top 24 after the short advance to the final Free Skate

Doggygirl

Record Breaker
Thanks...

...for clearing that up for me! LOL I was embarrassed to even ask, but I guess the most stupid question is the one you stay silent about.

Have fun over there!!

DG

icenut84

Final Flight
The skaters perform their LP in the qualifying round. Occasionally, they may perform a different LP (Stephane Lambiel's doing that - he's switching them from Euros, so the one he performed for the LP there is the qualifying skate for Worlds, and vice versa. IIRC Plushenko has done that before too). Most of the time though, they perform the same programme as in the LP section of the competition.