Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: What exactly is the definition of a jump??? (re Jason Brown)

  1. #1
    Sometimes bad skating happens to good people... LiamForeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bible Belt
    Posts
    483

    What exactly is the definition of a jump??? (re Jason Brown)

    As far as I could see he went from a LFOE to a LBIE and his blade never left the ice. How in the world is that considered a jump??? That's not even a waltz jump!

    Sorry if this is discussed in the 103 pages of the Men's FS. I couldn't find it. He got rooked.

  2. #2
    ISU, stop promoting 2-foot skating!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Axis of Evil
    Posts
    2,516
    He stepped into the axel though so he started the jump take-off.

  3. #3
    Custard Title
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    993
    It was scored as "A" which sometimes happens when a skater does a jump entry but aborts the jump. For example a skater once aborted a 3F at 2009 TEB as her toe pick was coming down, the element was called F.

  4. #4
    ISU, stop promoting 2-foot skating!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Axis of Evil
    Posts
    2,516
    It was called 'A' because he did an axel entry and aborted the jump at the last minute as he lost his balance. So it was called an Axel with zero revolutions.

    If a skater does a loop entry but then at the last moment wobbles and doesn't take off, the element will be called 'Lo.'

    I guess the question is, when does the jump 'officially start?' When a skater steps in and starts pre-rotating their body?

  5. #5
    Sometimes bad skating happens to good people... LiamForeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bible Belt
    Posts
    483
    So if I'm riding a long lutz edge, reach back but realize I'm too close to the boards and abandon it, that COUNTS as a jumping pass?

  6. #6
    ISU, stop promoting 2-foot skating!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Axis of Evil
    Posts
    2,516
    Quote Originally Posted by LiamForeman View Post
    So if I'm riding a long lutz edge, reach back but realize I'm too close to the boards and abandon it, that COUNTS as a jumping pass?
    My guess is (and I would love confirmation for a Technical Specialist on this as well):

    If you started pre-rotating your body and moving your free foot towards the ice to plant the toe-pick in = 'Lz'
    If you were skating backwards on an outside edge, raised your free leg but then aborted it before doing the above = no call

  7. #7
    Best comeback EVOR! zamboni step's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    683
    Quote Originally Posted by LiamForeman View Post
    So if I'm riding a long lutz edge, reach back but realize I'm too close to the boards and abandon it, that COUNTS as a jumping pass?
    http://youtu.be/t8akfCowZ94?t=1m4s

    http://www.isuresults.com/results/gp..._FS_Scores.pdf

    Another example of the take-off preparation counting as a jumping pass.

  8. #8
    Sometimes bad skating happens to good people... LiamForeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bible Belt
    Posts
    483
    Quote Originally Posted by zamboni step View Post
    http://youtu.be/t8akfCowZ94?t=1m4s

    http://www.isuresults.com/results/gp..._FS_Scores.pdf

    Another example of the take-off preparation counting as a jumping pass.
    Wow. Thanks. Obviously Scottie had no idea either. But when does he know anything...

  9. #9
    Tripping on the Podium
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by zamboni step View Post
    http://youtu.be/t8akfCowZ94?t=1m4s

    http://www.isuresults.com/results/gp..._FS_Scores.pdf

    Another example of the take-off preparation counting as a jumping pass.
    In that case do you think it would be wiser to take the jump, receive -ve GOE and possibly a fall deduction than get like a 0?

    Assuming Yuna makes the rotation and receives -3 GOE and does say stack it she still gets 3.2 for the jump and a -1 deduction?

    Still amazed that she still won by a huge margin despite not getting those 5-6 possible points.

  10. #10
    Custom Title
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3,137
    Personally I think it's a dumb rule, and I'm not just saying that because Jason got messed with. I've always thought it was a dumb rule. If they get in the air, fine. The second their blade leaves the ice, go for it. But when they don't even take off....that's stupid.

  11. #11
    Custard Title
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    993
    RE what counts and doesn't count for a Lutz attempt, here is an example of a skater who stumbled on preceding footwork and did not do the Lutz. It wasn't called as an attempt.

    Quote Originally Posted by Crylais View Post
    In that case do you think it would be wiser to take the jump, receive -ve GOE and possibly a fall deduction than get like a 0?

    Assuming Yuna makes the rotation and receives -3 GOE and does say stack it she still gets 3.2 for the jump and a -1 deduction?
    At Skate America 2009, her fall on a 3F< got her 1.7-1.0 points and the 1.0 fall deduction left her 0.3 points in the hole. A fall on a rotated 3F would have gotten 5.5-3-1 or 1.5 points.

  12. #12
    Tripping on the Podium
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by CarneAsada View Post
    RE what counts and doesn't count for a Lutz attempt, here is an example of a skater who stumbled on preceding footwork and did not do the Lutz. It wasn't called as an attempt.


    At Skate America 2009, her fall on a 3F< got her 1.7-1.0 points and the 1.0 fall deduction left her 0.3 points in the hole. A fall on a rotated 3F would have gotten 5.5-3-1 or 1.5 points.
    Thanks for the details. Sorry I am sort of new to figure skating. I thought with a -3 GOE for the 3F it's only about -2.1?


    I can sort of see why she wouldn't attempt the 3F though as it seems to be her biggest trouble just like Patrick Chan with the 3A.

  13. #13
    Custom Title
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    5,285
    For everyone complaining about it, it was clear that Brown skidded off his jumping edge, so that's when the jump was started. The judges clearly make a distinction between when a jump is started (e.g. when Hanyu does a pirouette preceding his lutz sequence, it's not counted as the entry into an axel). I knew immediately that he would be dinged for two jumping passes when I saw it, and felt bad because I knew that his final triple would be negated. When Plushenko skidded out of his 3L at that Euros (?), it would have been counted as a jumping pass.

    I think the point at which the jump is taking off, as evidenced by a distinguishable set-up, is when the element is recorded.

  14. #14
    I'm gonna Customize the CRAP out of this Title!!! Frenchie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Mainz, Germany
    Posts
    894
    Great thread, very interesting point...
    Whether the 0A of Jason would be considered a jump or not, I was a bit surprised at the way the judges (technical panel) chose to rank it:
    They could also have said "0A2A was a jump sequence", hence invalid element but only 1 element, hence the 3Lo counts. Since the 3Lo is worth more, that would have been better for Jason. And in dubio pro reo, right?
    Also, given what happened to Yuzuru Hanyu: 3Lz1Lo3S where the 3S was worth 0 points because he had both feet on the ice for too long before the take-off.
    If using those same criteria as they did for Jason, shouldn't they have said:
    "3Lz1Lo ... and then, new jumping pass: 3S" ?
    So in Yuzuru's case, the last 3Lz would have been the 9th jumping pass, hence worth 0 points...

    I know it's all very tricky for the judges to decide, but I thought that was inconsistent of the judges between the 21st skater and the 24th skater that night...
    Brown: "that thing" he did after the jumping pass was a 2A
    Hanyu: "that thing" he did after the jumping pass (3S) was nothing, it never happened. ???

  15. #15
    Sometimes bad skating happens to good people... LiamForeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bible Belt
    Posts
    483
    You know Frenchie, you're right. I didn't think about that. Why didn't Hanyu's 3S get called as another jumping pass like Jason's 2axel? Very inconsistent judging to say the least.

    I think Jason already had his 3 combinations completed so he couldn't get credit for a 0axel-2axel sequence. (I find the thought of being credited with a "0axel" quite hilarious, personally.... lol)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •