Adult Synchro | Golden Skate

Adult Synchro

Summerkid

Rinkside
How many people out there are interested in adult synchro? I'm a member of the Windy City Skates adult team in Chicago and we're always looking for new members. What holds an adult skater back from joining a synchro team? Is it that they don't know about it at all? Think it's too difficult? Think that there is too much of a time commitment? I'm curious. Thanks for your input.

sk8er1964

On the Ice
We have a very active adult synchro team at my club - they've won national medals the last two years.

I was asked, but didn't join because I am interested in singles skating, and did not have the money to pursue both. I couldn't afford to go to both Cleveland for Sectionals/Lake Placid for AN and also Wisconsin(?) and San Diego for Synchro.

It looks like fun....maybe someday.

RoaringMice

On the Ice
I've been hedging on trying out for our local team here for the past two years. Every time they post a try out, I contact them, then don't go. It's the time committment mostly for me, but I'm also concerned about the cost.

I wouldn't want to give up my normal skating, which is about once a week, so that would end up being either two evenings a week when I'm not home, or else one evening plus a weekend day. And it's not just the practice time - it's also the driving to and from the rink, which is over an hour from my home. I already have to drive that far to get to my normal lessons, I work full time, and taking additional time away from my family just isn't fair to them or to me - I want to see them occasionally, after all.

What attracts me is the comeraderie they seem to have on the team, as well as the fun of skating.

SK8GR8

Rinkside