Adult Training Camp | Golden Skate

Adult Training Camp

sk8pics

Rinkside
There is an adult training camp in Hackensack, NJ, June 25-27. I went last year and had a good time and learned a lot. I haven't made up my mind whether or not to go this year. The link for information is:

http://www.icehousenj.com/fskating_special_events_adultcamp.htm

I have to say the most fun last year was the off-ice work with John Zimmerman. At one point, he had us hopping backwards in our landing position, and he would chase us and try to knock us off balance. Hilarious when people starting fighting back! :D I also loved Artur Dmitriev. He was so cute the way he would encourage people to try new things, and at one point he had everyone clapping for a skater trying some loop jumps from a new entrance.

Pat

chana61

Spectator
That sounds interesting, and not too far from me! But I'm an absolute beginner--would there be anything there for my level?

sk8pics

Rinkside
Chana61,
They did split people according to level/tests passed, and they had a no-test group. I recall seeing a couple people (our stroking classes were combined) who could barely do crossovers, and they were of course having a bit of a hard time. But you have to just pace yourself and try new things, but don't be surprised if some of hte stuff is too hard. Although I'm pre-bronze, I'm still an awful spinner and last summer I was really just stepping through my toe loop. But Artur was great: he saw how much trouble I was having in his spinning class, and he would smile and wink at me and tell me to just keep doing what I was doing (which was simple one foot spins near the boards) while others were doing more advanced spins. Also Moskvina, when she watched my so-called toe loop, approved of my basic technique even as she told me I wasn't jumping. There were one or two people who I felt expected too much from me right then, but one is not back this year and if I had a class with the other I might just skip it.