Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Prestige of each competition?

Hybrid View

Medalist

Prestige of each competition?

Hi Im a newbie!
    I have a question!
    There are many comps in FS and major comps are
    OLY, WLD, GPF, EURO, 4CC this 5 comps no doubt.
    But how important is this each comp?
    I always think 'OLY>>>>>>WLD>>>GPF>EURO>4CC'
    Yes in regard of ranking point, EURO=4CC>GPF.
    But to skaters it would be little different I think?
    Give me your opinion pls. Sry 4 ma bad eng

Custom Title
    Olympics
    Worlds
    GPF
    Euro
    4CC
    National competitions
    Assorted GP events
    Senior B's

Custom Title
    When comparing careers of the greats, only Olympics and Worlds matter. More GPF or 4CC would never be a tiebreaker when factoring in who is better. For example, no one argues that Irina is on par with Michelle because she won 4 GPFs while Michelle only won 1. I think it's fair too, because Worlds is where everyone is trying to peak, so you get to see the world's best when they are (presumably) in peak condition.

I think Euros might still be more prestigious than the Grand Prix final. It has tradition and history going for it. In contrast, Four Continents has still not really found its footing, with many top skaters opting out.

Custom Title
    Quote Originally Posted by Mathman View Post
    I think Euros might still be more prestigious than the Grand Prix final. It has tradition and history going for it. In contrast, Four Continents has still not really found its footing, with many top skaters opting out.
    The most of the skaters uses GP to win money and to test their programs, which most of the time haven't reached their potential.