Another big change! They are honing in on those who do not meet the jumping requirements. In junior and senior levels, jumps that are less that 1.5 are not counted. Jumps that do not meet the requirement of the short program or free program in terms of number of revolutions will nit get counted. If a skater does a double double combo, the jump with the lesser value is not counted. If you dont deliver your jumps, you pay!
I understand the flutz and lip regulations. But not counting elements that doesn't satisfy the SP requirements?! That is CRAZY. If this comes into action, even quad-single or triple-single would get zero mark. Then who would risk a quad-triple? Fewer and fewer skater would attempt the 3-3, because if you screw up one jump than you can just say goodbye to your podium. I'm really smelling regression.
Mao can replace 3Lz with 2A, so I think this is not that big problem for her. She has still got five kinds of triples.
BTW, what will happen to combo like 3Lz-1lo-3S if jumps with less than 1.5 revs will have no value?
They specify jumps of "wrong number of revs" will have no value. So for example the BV of a 3Lz-1T is dropped from 6.4 to 6.0 (treated as a 3Lz+combo). It still counts for something.
Hmmm, because they used the example of a double-double rather than a triple-something or a quad-something, it's not completely clear whether "jump with a lesser value" refers to the double in relation to the intended triple, or the two doubles in relation to each other. My interpretation of the wording is that it refers to the latter. So it seems to be saying that in a double-double combination, the skater would only get credit for the higher-value double because quad-double and triple-double combinations are allowed. So if I'm interpreting the rule correctly, a quad-single and a triple-single would still get credit as a quad or a triple, just there would be no points for the single.
This is really confusing because in the case of the Zayak rule, if a jump cannot count for whatever reason, the entire jumping pass is lost and counts as 0, even if it's in combination with jumps that otherwise would have counted. But now in the new SP rule, you can still get credit for the half of the combo that does satisfy the rules?
I suppose this rules prevent the veteran from going for another season, huh? At this rate, Mao, Caro, Dai...will likely to retire right away.
Argh, this is so confusing. I really hope it doesn't mean quad-single would get zero points. That's too stupid to be true... right? Combos are ill-rewarded enough as is.
I hope it means that you get credit for the first half of the jumping pass. Even if that lowers the value of a quad-single, I think Zayaking shouldn't kill your podium chances immediately. Just repeating what I said on the Oda thread at this point, but...
I'm really worried about this too. With such a big difference in points (but fuzzy difference in action, as the debate on Adelina shows) between ! and e, it'll be a very easy method to hold someone up and punish someone else.How this shakes out is going to depend on the tech panel. How often is (e) vs (!) going to be used? My biggest fear is that the favorited skater's with either remain uncalled as they are now or just receive the (!) with minimal GOE deductions, also like now, whereas the unfavored will get absolutely destroyed by the tech panel with (e) calls.