What makes a dance program difficult? | Golden Skate

What makes a dance program difficult?

zilam98

Rinkside
With all those posts on N&K's programs not showcasing difficulty, I just would like to know what makes a dance program difficult, especially by today's standards.

diver chick

On the Ice
Okay first off I am no expert on the intricacies of dance however there are certain things I know to be important to make a dance 'difficult'

Speed and accuracy of execution - If a couple can get a good balance between the speed and the how accurately and cleanly they execute their dance this adds to the difficulty of the dance. For example one of the criticisms the Israelis had and to some extent still have is that they tend to look ragged and frenetic on the ice with moves looking unfinished because they are skating so fast.

Change of dance holds - how difficult the holds and changes of holds are and how cleanly and confidently they are performed. it shouldn't look like an effort or scramble to change hold.

Dance lifts - to be unique and difficult and again how cleanly and confidently they are performed without breaking the flow of the program. The French couple, Olivier and Isabelle, are examples of a couple who perform difficult lifts that sometimes go right and sometimes go wrong.

Footwork - deep edges, match the music, good synchronisation. An example of difficult step sequence would be Albena and Maxims Baroque OD where they crossed each other throughout. It makes it much more difficult to keep the flow and synchronisation.