What is "Russian" style? | Golden Skate

What is "Russian" style?

RoundedBackCamel

On the Ice
I am American but I have been captivated by Russian-style artistic movement since Olga Korbut and Ludmilla Tourischeva in the 1972 Olympics when I was a child and then by Nureyev and Barishnikov and Godinov and  then by Russian skaters (notably G&G/B&S and Yagudin and Plushenko). I could not root for American herky-jerky style gymnastics (dynamo power and then cutesy pose) even when I was supposed to root for my country-women in the 1996 and 2012 Olympics when U.S. women gymnastics had strong teams. I am an artist and painter who pays a lot of attention to anatomy and I have traveled to Russian and have a Russian child. In my observations (admittedly amateur when it comes to figure skating), it is not just training and tradition in the arts and hardship (per Mishin) and plucking talented 3-year-olds under a governmental system demanding excellence for reasons of nationalistic pride; it is physicality and carriage and skeletal structure and posture, where the head on a long neck sits in alignment to the spine. At the risk of writing the poetry out of something by being too literal, could someone describe what "Russian style" is to me? I was reminded of it listening to Dick Button commentary (who was no Yagudin fan) saying about his Overcome Exhibition he was "so Russian, so dark." I think a particularly "Russian" move of Yagudin is during the hunched shoulders "unmasking" part in Man in Iron Mask routine as very "Russian." Is my sense correct?

karne

in Emergency Backup Mode
Record Breaker
Country
Australia