Help With Skates | Golden Skate

Help With Skates

Myblade

Rinkside
I am a beginner at skating and I am currently learning half /1rotation jumps. I have Riedell 113s, and I don't know if they give enough support. And if someone would tell me why skaters have to change boots because of the support, I would be very glad.

mskater93

Record Breaker
You will know if there isn't enough support because you will struggle to hold edges and there's a possibility you could injure your ankles. People change boots to provide more support as they begin to work on more difficult elements that need it. I am in custom top of the line Harlicks because 1) I am a full grown adult, 2) I am working on double jumps, and 3) I am hard on boots.

Babbette1

On the Ice
Kinzie's Closet has a boot rating chart and it says Reidell 113s are suitable for :
Advanced stroking, crossovers, forward one foot turns, consecutive edges, half-jumps, one foot spins, sit spin. Beginning single jumps.

Boots Should have stiffness rating between 40 - 50. Lowest Rating is for Youth, Higher Rating for Adults.

(PS People say that the chart doesn't match well with Skate Canada, so take that comment for what it's worth from a complete stranger.

MalAssada

Medalist
Riedell's website say that your skates are "soft"/"recreational". For single jumps, 223 Stride or up (stiffness rating 50).

Myblade

Rinkside
Thanks! Can somebody tell me what skates I should use next?( I am not a adult) that are Riedell . Are 133s okay?

Littlerain

Rinkside
Not sure if you saw bellflower's comment above, but 133s are also on the recreational side.

Have you talked to your coach or gone to a fitter?

Myblade

Rinkside
Sorry I meant 113s they seem popular at my rink and some skaters above my level use it so I'm curious

Babbette1

On the Ice
a. We don't know your height and weight, both of which are important in boot selection
b. We've never seen you skate