Help: Stretching and working out makes me less flexible?! | Golden Skate

Help: Stretching and working out makes me less flexible?!

juliek

Spectator
Hey everyone,

I’m new here and need some help concerning stretching.
Well, first things first: I’m just a recreational skater, 18 years old and started skating about 2 years ago.
I’m doing single jumps and working on sit spins and camel spins now.

Since I can’t be on the ice that often, I like to do off ice exercises.
Last year, I began working out and stretching about three times a week, but it didn’t improved my skating. On the contrary, my coach and I both noticed that my spirals were much lower and I could’nt put my leg as high as I did before.
All in all, I felt more inflexible…

Does anyone has a clue why this happened (or what I did wrong...) ?

Thanks a lot!

MalAssada

Medalist
I am no pro, but it is suggested that you stretch a little every day instead of 3 times a week for a longer time. What kind of exercises are you doing?

Sam-Skwantch

“I solemnly swear I’m up to no good”
Record Breaker
Country
United-States
I am no pro, but it is suggested that you stretch a little every day instead of 3 times a week for a longer time. What kind of exercises are you doing?

This that and a bag of Doritos :) Stretching is like exercise. Doing it two or three times a week for 2hrs at a time won't do much...and I believe it may actually hurt it. You shpuld be doing it 10-30 mins a day ...EVERYDAY......this is the key in my experience.

Not that you want to be Lipnitskaya flexi but she does 45mins a day Everyday just to maintain hers. She said if she takes even a day off she feels it going away.

Anyway good luck to you. I personally do resistance training with elastic bands and a giant medicine ball every morning and before bed.

juliek

Spectator
Thanks a lot :)
I didn't know it is THAT important to stretch everyday! Well, you can see I'm a beginner, haha :D