Jackson Ultima Marquis or Jackson Ultima Freestyle? | Golden Skate

Jackson Ultima Marquis or Jackson Ultima Freestyle?

ilyden25

Rinkside
Hi, I am a beginner skater from the Philippines.

Can you share some of your insights and help me on the situation. I am fairly a heavy guy (165cm ; 82kg). I really got addicted to skating and i wanted to learn the basics (USFSA basic 1-8) and I'm thinking of purchasing my skate shoes. I've done a fair amount of reading and what i found most helpful is from Kinzie's closet. According to the table in the site, heavy skaters should opt to buy the next higher level boot. I wanted to purchase a boot that i can use for quite sometime and use it at it's outmost capability. Considering my build and size, would you recommend a marquis? or should I go for freestyle? Thanks in advance!!!

PS: Have no coach yet due to lack of funds for one. :D

mskater93

Record Breaker
Trying to keep a boot "for quite some time" is a mistake a lot of beginners make because the right strength boot is going to break down between 3 and 36 months after purchase depending on the amount of usage (elite skaters often go through boots 2-4 times per year at 2-5 hours per day on the ice pounding triples and quads). However, in your case, you are probably better off in the heavier boot. Remember not to over blade (purchase too advanced a blade) for yourself since I believe the Freestyles come separate as that can inhibit your progress and to not tie them all the way to the top hook until they are broken in. Good luck

ilyden25

Rinkside
Thanks for the inputs. I saw a jackson freestyle with an aspire XP blade... do you think this blade could be an overblade for my heavy beginner self?

Babbette1

On the Ice
Thanks for the inputs. I saw a jackson freestyle with an aspire XP blade... do you think this blade could be an overblade for my heavy beginner self?