Cost, travel, time no object for one passionate skating fan | Golden Skate

Cost, travel, time no object for one passionate skating fan

delray1977

Rinkside
lucky girl that Mori is. Since I live in Boston, I could only afford the last nationals. I am saving up for one of the next worlds that is in Boston. Actually the ladies free tickets I had were a Christmas gift from my sister.

karne

in Emergency Backup Mode
Record Breaker
Country
Australia
How nice for her.

But I always resent the implication that those who have the money to travel to every Grand Prix, or have the money to buy endless piles of merchandise, are somehow better or more passionate fans than those who will never have the money for such things.

cheerknithanson

Record Breaker
Country
United-States
Wow. That's amazing! Reminds me of some Hanson fans who've been to 50+ concerts.

I can't do all of what she does cause I'm a full-time college student, a college cheerleader, some flights are too expensive, it wouldn't feel right to go to like Japan for only 2 or 3 days, and international flights are even more expensive.

I feel lucky that I'm able to go to Skate America this year and that I saw a Stars on Ice show 5 1/2 months ago.

I'm going to try to save my parents some money by not asking for a lot for birthdays and holidays so I can POSSIBLY go to Worlds in 2016.

sequinsgalore

Record Breaker
^I hope that's not the implication. I've never seen a international competition in real life, because I live in Denmark and am a poor student, but I do not mind staying up to 4 AM to watch Worlds og US Nats on streams.

Though, I can't say I'm not jealous of "Mori" :biggrin:
Here's hoping I win the lottery soon...

delray1977

Rinkside
The passionate fans should be the ones (like me)who get up at 4am to watch a competition on the internet.

karne

in Emergency Backup Mode
Record Breaker
Country
Australia