Dizziness practicing spins | Golden Skate

Dizziness practicing spins

artekgwent

Rinkside
My coach introduced me to one-foot spins this week. I did about 10 or so in practice. Plus, before this I'd been doing 3 or 4 2-foot spins each practice (about twice a week lately). Mind you, I'm just starting out on spinning - 3 revolutions is about my max. My last practice was Wed.

I'd heard that one gets used to the feeling of dizziness after the spin - just keep practicing.

However, yesterday I woke up and couldn't walk straight - kept leaning to left & falling over! No balance, felt dizzy. Went away after 15 minutes, but still felt a little dizzy for the next few hours.

Went to doctor, thinking my ever-troublesome sinuses & 6-yr old son's cold had engendered some kind of ear infection in me. But, no ear infection. A hearing test confirmed everything OK there too (phew, I'm a musician!)

Doctor says I should go to get a balance test. I tell him, hah, how bad could my balance be - I go skating regularly & I'm not falling down! Only upon leaving the office with the appointment for the test do I suddently think, hm, could spinning have something to do with this? Being 2 days later, I didn't even think of it, and besides, I really practice spinning very little, I think.

Can anyone share if they've had similar past experiences?

cborsky

Rinkside
I really hope that dizzy spell you had was your last one! Give the balance test a try, then you'll know for sure whether it was the problem or not.

I'm sure there is some kind of science to getting dizzy. Maybe someone will know why you were leaning to the left - it could correspond to the direction you spin in. Although, I've never heard of a spin making someone dizzy two days later.