Balancing a Schedule | Golden Skate

Balancing a Schedule

mnm464

On the Ice
As a competitive figure skater now or previous, maybe even a loyal mother or spectator, most of us know the struggle of a figure skater. You've got the skating practice, the off-ice conditioning, dance or ballet, yoga, etc. Not to mention the extremely important school! As a student, I find it increasingly difficult to manage the aspects of figure skating including 3-4 hours(no joke), ballet and conditioning 2 times a week, plus high school. I have managed to barely scrape by, but I need to find a better way to do this due to lack of sleep-->resulted in over use injury Does anyone know how many of the figure skating greats got past this difficult time with training? What do you think?

Perhaps total homeschooling is an option, but from what I have heard, that could potentially limit my university options. Going to school full time is also very hard; I would have to skate at the crowded sessions with let's say slightly less aware, younger skaters. Possible, yet hard to obtain, hybrid schooling- taking 1 to 3 online classes(elective and history/"easier" class)[I am using this option now, but wish to expand skating time]

Side notes: I talked with Nikita[Katsalapov] and he said, "It was hard. I would run to/from school." I am not sure if meant this in the literal terms, as English is his second language, but I got the point.

Gao is another great skater who accomplished a fair amount academically and competitively by taking online AP classes(from what I heard).

I also heard from my friend's mom that Kim Yu Na would skate in the morning, go to school for a couple hours, come back and skate at mid day, and finish school, and skate again. I would believe this, but documentaries say otherwise-S. Korean ice rinks had limited ice, usually at night.

Last edited:

Mrs. P

Uno, Dos, twizzle!
Record Breaker