How long do these milestones usually take? | Golden Skate

How long do these milestones usually take?

NumberOneRobot

Rinkside
I'm pretty new to skating still (started last October), and I have a really poor conception of how much time people generally spend learning new skills, and when they hit certain milestones. I know everybody is different, so I should take number with a grain of salt, but how long do people generally spend doing things like tests (for MIF, FS, dance), learning the six basic spin positions (not counting layback since I'm male :)), and the jumps up through double Axel or so?

I don't mean to make a skating timeline or anything, but it's nice to have the idea in case you end up working on something for wayyyyy too long, that maybe I can look at things and decide it's time for a different approach. Without a general idea of how long these skills take to learn, I think I'd be doing that way too early. :)

I've been skating since almost a year ago, and in that time I've passed 3 standard track MIF tests (testing Juvenile next week), 1 FS test (almost done with program for Preliminary test), and the first dance tests. Haven't decided if I want to focus on singles or dance, yet. Is that normal progress or is that slower than usual?

Any input is appreciated. Thanks!

gkelly

Record Breaker
It really varies widely, depending on the individual.

Variables include the age of the skater, their natural physical talent, the quality of the coaching they receive, frequency of lessons, and number of hours of practice per week. The amount of time on the ice per week is probably the most significant.

Your rate of progress so far seems pretty good. But it will slow down as you start working on harder skills.