Skates for an adult beginner? | Golden Skate

Skates for an adult beginner?

NapoleonSissy

Spectator
Hi,
I'm not sure if this is the correct place to post this, but I couldn't figure out where to ask. I'm turning 23 in a few months and I just recently picked up ice skating (about 3 months ago). I've never skated before, so I just bought some skates (Tempish Chic Plus, a Czech brand that costs like 40 Euro) and I go to public skating sessions about 2-3 times a week for 2 hours. I'm not too athletic, so it took me some time to get confident on the ice (getting a coach here is beyond impossible at my time disponibility and age) so I'm just getting started on my forward crossovers and backwards skating.
So I'm also graduating university in a few weeks and my mom said she would buy me better skates as a graduation present. So I've been looking to get something of a better quality, since I'm planning to keep skating aftter the summer break and so on. I'm not on a exactly tight budget and the beginner skates don't cost THAT much.
After some research of what is available here, I've got a few candidates:
  • Edea Overture
  • Risport RF Light
  • Jackson Classique
  • Edea Preludio
Now, from what I've gathered, important thing is stiffnes and width. I don't have particulary slim feet (but not too fat either I think?), so I think that maybe rules out Risport, as I've heard that they are quite narrow. I really like how Jacksons look and how high they seem to reach on the leg, however the Classique model comes with Ultima Mirage blade mounted and the toe pick just seems so intimidating (even so because my hockey-playing stepdad had my lowest tooth on toe pick sharpened flat - it's not there, so I'll have to adjust to having it) !! So I've turned my attention to Edeas, as they suppossedly fit anybody with 'standard' feet and they come separatedly, so I could have them mounted with the Mark IV blade that I think is the best option for me.