Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Thread: Concussions in Figure Skating

On the Ice

2 Not allowed!

Concussions in Figure Skating

As it has been suggested, I'm starting a new thread for this topic since it took over the Ashley Wagner Body Issue Thread.

Short and very brief re-cap:
    • Ashley Wagner has had 5 bad concussions that have caused long lasting cognitive issues
    • Evan Lysacek had had 15-20
    • They clearly aren't the only ones to deal with this issue.
    • Helmets get mixed reviews by the GS forum members as they won't protect against all concussions and may even cause other problems
    • Crashe and Ice Halo are options, but not as good protection as a helmet.
    • More research needed

What should be done to address the issue? Other thoughts?

Bona Fide Member

3 Not allowed!
    I hit my head and ended my skating career doing crossovers....Now, even if we'd had helmets, I don't think I would have worn it until I started training jumps at my practice sessions. That would be like wearing a helmet to do across the floors in dance class. It's not something you think about. I would imagine that gymnasts could use helmets for training but, even the light ones would be cumbersome while rotating in the air.

I remember learning a difficult dance lift and my partner was given a helmet. She said it through her off her center making it difficult for her to turn. She was actually more afraid of falling while turning than from our lift. Personally, after getting hit in the mouth TWICE by the helmet while lifting her I was equally afraid of them. If they design a thin helmet that could be wrapped in a soft outer casing, I think that could work. The problem I see is that even with a helmet, a skater who is dropped from an overhead lift will still feel the "Impact" of the fall. That's why football players still get concussions even with the most sophisticated helmets in world.