Guidance for new starter? | Golden Skate

Guidance for new starter?

Georgina

Spectator
Hello! I thought I'd make a sort of introductory post as I'm very new to both figure skating and this forum, and I'm a bit nervous about the whole thing to be quite honest!

I'm 21 and went skating for the first time earlier this year. I decided to try it again about two months ago. Since then, I've been going to the rink at least once a week, 2-3 times in more recent weeks. Thanks to a full time job and twice weekly beginner ballet classes, I haven't been at liberty to take a group lesson in skating yet, but have taken it upon myself to try learning, anyway.

I'm now comfortable skating backwards (on inside edges, at least), doing forward crossovers on both sides, doing lunges, and doing (very basic) arabesques, hoping to graduate those into better spirals sometime soon. I'm absolutely hopeless at anything approaching a 3-turn and can't hold a full circle on any edge except my left outside edge. I want to try backwards crossovers soon. Ultimately, I'd really like to be able to compete in local competitions one day.

I've been feeling a bit discouraged seeing videos and threads of people who have been skating about as long as I have and are much more advanced already. I know it's hard to tell how much experience other people had before taking lessons or teaching themselves, or what kind of lessons they are taking, but I still get embarrassed thinking I just have no idea what I'm doing.

My schedule is finally seeing a change soon (studio closing and need to find a new one...), so the week after next I will be able to start taking weekly group lessons.

I guess I'm just trying to gauge - is the progress I've made so far average or am I stunting myself? Also, have you had experiences with adult beginner group skating lessons, and what sort of set up should I expect when I finally get to go?