Euros - Day 1 Report - CD and pairs SP | Golden Skate

Euros - Day 1 Report - CD and pairs SP

LizK

Spectator
CD - Golden Waltz

Local organizers must have sponsored groups of schoolchildren for the compulsory dance. Kids had been trucked in to fill the arena and packed it to the rafters. They went very insane for any kind of spinning lift to finish the the CD, and many had brought Italian flags to cheer for for Faiella/Scali and Aureli/Vaturi. Chanting Eeee-Tal-Ya (Italia) over and over, screaming and running up to the glass to cheer, the atmosphere during the Italian couples was like a soccer match.

Quick notes on the top few dancers. I am very good with technical reports on singles and pairs, but I'm not an expert in dance so just general not-terribly-technical comments here:

1. Navka/Kostomarov - class of the field, everything well done, good timing, edges, flow, speed and good expression of the waltz, very elegant

2. Grushina/Goncharov - great speed, very well presented, Grushina really projects outward to the audience, very grand style

3. Denkova/Stavisky - just behind G/G and seemed justified, she is still very sick (getting over a bad flu, coughing in every practice, I heard she has bronchitis) and overall they were a bit sluggish. Good edging, but the waltz is unfortunately not a strong style for them, they lack the extension and leg line of N/K or G/G.

4. Delobel Schoenfelder - deep and quiet edges, but need to project more of the feeling of the waltz and with more speed

5. Chait/Sahknovsky - flowed well, good deep edging (especially him), nice speed (could have been close to Del/Schoe)

6. Faiella/Scali - so energized by the atmosphere when they were introduced, they skated the first half of the first pattern like they were shot out of a cannon, with blazing speed and attack. The remaining 75% of the dance was a bit calmer and skated very competently. Their hydroblade highlight to close the program brought more screams from the audience.