Breaking in new boots (beginner - tips please!) | Golden Skate

Breaking in new boots (beginner - tips please!)

magdalijena

Spectator
Hi all,

I am a beginner adult skater (28). I've been taking lessons for a month and I'm currently at about adult 1.5-ish level - working on my backwards skating.
I've been skating in soft skates (which were comfortable on my foot but I don't think were supportive enough) and I just bought a pair of Jackson Excel. I wore them at home (with guards) and my feet are in a lot of pain after that.
I took pictures (attached - and I'm sorry for foot images!) for reference - the biggest pain is definitely my small toe but there are other red areas.
I know there is always a break in period for new skates but are there any tips/suggestions on what can I do to help me avoid any skin-breaking blisters? I can already tell that my small toe will be in agony.
All suggestions and tips are appreciated!

IMG-8772.jpg

IMG-8773.jpg

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
My first question is going to be: Did you get this professionally fitted to your foot?

magdalijena

Spectator
My first question is going to be: Did you get this professionally fitted to your foot?
No, and I know it's not great. Unfortunately there is no pro skating shops in my area. None. I searched all over. This model was suggested by my coach as a pretty "standard" option for beginners.

Ic3Rabbit

Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
No, and I know it's not great. Unfortunately there is no pro skating shops in my area. None. I searched all over. This model was suggested by my coach as a pretty "standard" option for beginners.
This is more than likely the reason your skates are giving you problems. They don't fit you correctly and are going to put you in a world of pain. Is there somewhere that all the other skaters and coaches get their boots/blades?

sandraskates

Final Flight
Country
United-States