Figure Skating Story -- you're the coach. | Golden Skate

Figure Skating Story -- you're the coach.

Icarus

Spectator
Hello. I'm a writer and -- I'm not sure how I've managed to get myself into this -- but I'm writing a story about a figure skater and his coach.

I'm just beginning the research and could really use your help. My experience with figure skating involves a pair of skates and a backyard pond, plus being the typical armchair cheering section during the Olympics. I had an Olympic athlete (track and field) in the family, so that helps.

My story calls for an almost-there skater, who rises up through the Sectionals, Regionals, and to the Nationals most years. He once made it as far as the Worlds but was taken out by an injury. He relies mostly on athletic ability and his jumps but has realized that he's never going to make it any further if he doesn't improve artistically. He has no idea how to do so.

He's gone through a few coaches, and has one now that's an arrogant prima donna who's highly unconventional.

You're the coach. How would you train him?

There's much I need to learn, but let's start with the question that's the most fun.

Thank you,
Icarus

SusanBeth

Final Flight
I am not coach or an artist. I am just tired and silly. ;) I don't know if you are looking for realistic and rational suggestions or not. I don't have very many of those.

John Nicks (coach) told someone on Skating with Celebrities to get in touch with his feminine side. There's possibilities there.

His coach could take a "holistic" approach to artistry. (All art is inteconnected. If he's too repressed on the ice, get him to loosen up off the ice.)

If you're writing a comedy, you could have the coach introduce him to some weirder "art" forms. He could be required to find his artistic higher power by means of painting. (Farrah Fawcett actually applied the paint to her body and rolled around the canvas.) It's eccentric at least.