Europeans on ABC/ESPN-Televised Thoughts | Golden Skate

Europeans on ABC/ESPN-Televised Thoughts

insecureedge

On the Ice
The quality of skating was significantly improved at Budapest compared with what we saw at 4CC, making this an enjoyable afternoon of skating.

Europeans Result Page for reference

I apologize if the elements are wrong; it's my first time trying to take notes. How do the people that report from the competitions do it?!

MEN (in order of appearance)
LP results
overall results

Please pass along some of that charisma to our North American and Asian skaters!

Stephane Lambiel-QRB:4,SP:12,LP:5,Overall:6
Music:Gypsy Dance,
Elements:4t-3t,3x(fall),3f-3t,combo spin,MITF,2z,3l,camel spin,easy straight-line steps,3s,circular footwork,combo spins
Tech:5.4-5.7, Pres: 5.3-5.8
Very fast spins and overall charming skater but still seems rougher than the other guys in terms of presentation (not movement-wise, but in terms of conviction).

Frederic Dambier-QRB:2,SP:4,LP:4,Overall:4
Music:"Tango de Roxane" from the movie Moulin Rouge,
Elements:4s,3s-3t,3x-2t,spread eagle into 3?,spin,2l,flying death drop sit spin combo,spread eagle into 3z,3f,3t,spin,circular footwork,straight-line footwork,sudden stop
Tech:5.3-5.7, Pres:5.4-5.7
The French flair lives on. Very charismatic, but needs to clean up his somewhat scratchy landings

Brian Joubert-QRB:1,SP:2 (lost 5-4 split),LP:1,Overall:1
Music:from the movie The Matrix,
Elements: 4t,3f,3x,spin,Yagudin-like miming,4t-3t,3l,combo spin,circular footwork,3z,combo spin,straight-line steps,3s,combo spin
Tech:5.7-5.9, Pres:5.5-5.8, Ordinals:All 1
A much deserved win for Joubert, who up to this point has had a very rough season. Choreographically too reminiscent of Alexei Yagudin, and IMO the weakest in terms of interesting choreographically second only the Plushenko's program. Good that he did his first 2 quad program, although still needs to clean up a few of the jumps.