Axel: Missing Something? | Golden Skate

Axel: Missing Something?

Three Dots

Spectator
I've been working on the axel for about 2 years, and I'm getting really desperate, fustrated and even depressed at myself because I still can't land it. I'm basically happy with everything I can do, fast spins, power, etc. But the one thing I can't do is my axel. And it's very fustrating to see skaters who start skating after me land their doubles and axels before me.

Many people tell me it's all in my head because I can land it on the harness, even without my coach pulling me up. I can land it with just the harness belt on, even without the rope to pull me up. But when the belt gets off, I can't. I can land it two footed, fully rotated, I never fall, I land with my landing foot touching the ice first, and then my other foot doesn't check back but stomps on the ice after. I can land it fully rotated, one footed on the ground, so what is wrong with me on the ice?

Just recently, I lost the "pop", the hip turn that rotates my body to a backspin. Any tips on getting that back and making sure that my right foot doesn't touch the ground, but checks back?

dlkksk8fan

Medalist
Hi Three Dots and welcome to GS!

I would leave the axel behind for awhile and forget about it. Don't do it. Then I would re-learn it again from the beginning.

spindoctor

Spectator
axel help