In need of advice :) | Golden Skate

In need of advice :)

mayo

Spectator
Hello! I’m a beginner skater looking for advice on skates. I went to a fitter near me recently, and we figured out my skate size. However, while I was there, they saw I was rolling over (pronating) and said I needed a skate with the ability to move the blade to compensate.

I was looking at Jackson Mystiques (about $150) and the lowest to be able to move the blade are the Jackson Evos ($240). Do I really need to get the blades moved? I just started skating a month and a half ago and was only looking for my own skates so I could skate more often and so it wouldn’t hurt my feet like rental skates.

Are there any other fixes or is blade adjustment important to make sure I learn and skate correctly? And to be honest, is it that big of a deal? Or something just to get me to buy a more expensive skate? Thank you!

tstop4me

Final Flight
Country
United-States
I won't comment on whether either of these boots are right for you. That's a different question.

* If you pronate strongly, it will interfere with your skating, even as a beginner. It should be corrected. Corrections include: (a) replacing the stock footbed with a corrective footbed, (b) moving the blade, or (c) shimming the blade. Depending on the severity of your pronation, you may need a combo of the above.