MK Professional Lite - opinions? | Golden Skate

MK Professional Lite - opinions?

grifuts

Spectator
Country
Germany
I’ve been skating for about 4 years on and off as a hobby. I couldn’t advance much (jump-, spin-, footwork- and learning how to use my edges-wise) due to my boots being too big and the blades being unpredictable on the ice. It didn’t bother me at first but now I want to learn how to skate properly and improve my technique, and I am looking for the right gear to help me reach the level I want to.

To give you an idea of what I can do: I can hold a spin for a couple of seconds, skate backwards quickly, forward crossovers, waltz jumps, 3-turns.

My skate tech recommended the MK Pros and Coronation Aces, but due to these blades being sold out they said I’d either have to wait 3 to max. 12 weeks for the Coronation Aces or Pros… or I could get the MK Pro Lites right now.

I’ve read on this forum about how the Lites don’t help skaters learn how to properly use edges and that its hard to spin on them. On the other hand, I’ve also read about how they helped the skater improve edges and jumps tremendously.

So my question is, how much of the Lites’ quality and support it gives the skater comes down to pure preference and how objectively can you say that their construction is bad?

Anyone with experience on wearing them is more than welcome to share their thoughts!

tinna

Spectator
Hi. I am not a good spinner, but I used to have Coronation Ace Lites and I could spin in them with no difficulty.
However, I preferred the regular Coronation Aces - the weight of the blade actually helped me when I was learning spin entries. When the Lites were ruined by a bad sharpening, I did not get a second pair.