Realistic goals for adult skater? | Golden Skate

Realistic goals for adult skater?

Emily98

Rinkside
Hi everyone, newbie here! :)

I am a 22 year old recreational skater aiming to start training more regularly this fall, and I am curious to hear about anyone's experience of learning new elements at my age. I skated for the first time when I was 7 but my parents actually had no intention to introduce me to figure skating: they hired a coach for one or two basic private lessons because my school teacher was planning an outing at the rink and they were afraid I would injure myself. I had always enjoyed watching figure skaters and from the very first lesson, I fell in love with the ice; the teacher noticed my motivation right away and encouraged my parents to bring me to the rink again. They agreed but quickly decided that it should remain just a hobby and prevented me from having regular training, becoming part of a club or competing, despite my frustration. I was allowed a few private lessons per winter, some skating on public sessions (never more than once a week except during Christmas vacation), and no practice at all when outdoor rinks are closed (from March to October each year). With this regime and an additional challenge due to my height (I am now 1m80!), I learnt much slower than I would have liked but managed to master jumps up to a single axel as well as basic spins (before covid I had decent scratch, sit, camel and back scratch spins, a hit-and-miss combo spin, and I was getting started on a layback). During the pandemic, I haven't been able to skate but I have done strength and flexibility training, and taught myself consistent off-ice double salchows and toe loops.