1998 Olympics, Tara or Michelle?

• Tara Lipinski

Votes: 48 49.0%
  • Michelle Kwan

Votes: 50 51.0%

• Total voters

BronzeisGolden

Medalist
I've been posting here for about 2 years and I don't think this subject has been discussed since I've been here. At the 1998 Olympic Games in Nagano, who deserved the ladies' Gold Medal? Would you have chosen Tara or Michelle and why? AND PLEASE PEOPLE....LET US NOT BE UGLY ABOUT THIS!

BronzeisGolden

Medalist
As much as I love Michelle and felt "Lyra Angelica" was one of the best LPs of all time, I would have gone with Tara in Nagano. I had never seen Tara skate like that before. She had a sense of abandon and joy that immediately drew me in. The lutz was a flutz and the axel was pure roller skating technique, but she gave it everything at her only Olympic experience and it showed. I was heartbroken for Michelle, but I think the right skater won that night.

Tove

On the Ice
I go with Tara, because she didn't hold back, like it seemed Michelle did a bit...she appeared kind of cautios... I'm not the biggest fan of either, though.....:sheesh:

jozmen01

Rinkside
MK is my favorite skater - however, on THAT night, I would have gone with Tara, just like I feel that Sarah definitley won in SLC. MK skated very cautiuosly and Tara skated like I had never seen her skate before. On that night, her skating demanded your attention, IMHO. She deserved the win. At the US Nationals in '98 and in 2002, Michelle deserved the win.

Kasey

Medalist