(Auto-)biographies / life writing | Golden Skate

(Auto-)biographies / life writing

icewhite

Record Breaker
So, are you doing it? What do you think of it?

For me it's an interesting topic, but I am struggling with many biographies and some ways biographies are presented. I am quite a fan of shorter associative paragraphs instead of a clear narrative like the hero's journey and such - for me, the linear telling of a life rarely works.

I love working with motives and places...

For me an intruiging autobiographical novel was Delphine de Vigan's Rien ne s’oppose à la nuit.

I have never watched I, Tonya, although I find Harding fascinating. I am just too afraid of the way Hollywood cuts biographies into a frame... but I thought Oppenheimer (which I watched because my son wanted to see it) was very good.

If you write about your own life, how do you do it?

TallyT

Record Breaker
Country
Australia
As I mentioned on the thread in Gracie's book, I am currently studying a BA in retirement and the subject I will be doing this session (starts next week) is life writing: "memoir, biography, fragmentary work, micro-memoir, digital modes and performance practice."

I am more than a little nervous, though I am every session (you should have heard me wibble about genre media!) because I have led on of those small, quiet lives that do not make for interesting literary material plus I tend to be both aggravatingly private (I also have a rotten memory) and have family that might take their lives being plundered amiss. So I am planning to poach the lives of other people I know or have read/heard about and see how far I can get away with it.
For me it's an interesting topic, but I am struggling with many biographies and some ways biographies are presented. I am quite a fan of shorter associative paragraphs instead of a clear narrative like the hero's journey and such - for me, the linear telling of a life rarely works.