Best way to learn? | Golden Skate

Best way to learn?

Sooky

Spectator
Hi, I am returning to skating after being a keen, but self-taught skater as a teenager (now 36). The things that seemed effortlessly easy 20 years ago are now so much harder (e.g. crossovers - gives you an idea of how much skill I've lost) and I admit I am nervous about taking risks. Two children and a busy job mean injuries would be 'a v. bad thing'!

I am practising on my own at the rink, and have been using books and instructional videos to build a programme of skills to develop and practise. I realise that a good teacher is probably the best way to go, especially at my age, but wondered what difference people feel a teacher makes and whether books/videos are ever really adequate?:unsure:

Would really appreciate your thoughts.

Sooky

Clarice

Rinkside
I think you really need a coach. Books and videos can be useful, but since you can't see yourself skate (unless you're able to videotape every practice session), you need the coach's perspective as an outside pair of eyes to watch and evaluate what you're doing. A good coach can also try different approaches and ways of explaining something until they find what clicks for you. I think paying for lessons is worth it, to make sure you learn things correctly in the first place. Undoing bad habits is no fun.

megsk8z

On the Ice
(A quick "HI" to Clarice!)

Get a coach! Join an adult group for lessons. I have both group lessons (a regular laugh riot) and private lessons (a painful reminder that I'm not as good as I'd like to be). The group lessons are *so* much fun and we adults are very supportive of one another. This does not mean we won't laugh at you when you mess up (we all get to laugh sooner or later), but it definitely means you'll get a lot of encouragement from fellow skaters. Group lessons are a great idea for the monetarily challenged as well.

julietvalcouer

Final Flight