Extended lifts at JW | Golden Skate

Extended lifts at JW

gsk8

Record Breaker
Country
United-States
I'm enjoying a little time off before WTT. I've been rewatching some of the wonderful free dances from JW :)

One thing that left me a bit boggled in the combination lifts for the Canadian and British teams:

I noted that the team from CAN had what looked just a tad longer than the 12-second rule. So I timed it and came up with roughly12:26 (could be off, of course). Not a big deal and they didn't get dinged for it. But then I watched the team from GBR and saw they received a deduction for an extended lift. I timed it at roughly 11:76? :scratch2: I queued both links right before the lift. Of course I'm no expert nor a referee, but... @dorispulaski? Input?

I delved in because both teams were so close in points. That one-point deduction cost the Brits the bronze.

Still, absolutely gorgeous routines from both teams!

Only five teams had a combination lift of the 19 competitors.

So much potential, and the Czechs and South Koreans were so nice to watch! I'm looking forward to watching them all grow :)

dorispulaski

Wicked Yankee Girl
Country
United-States
From the Handbook for Referees and Judges 2022/2024

The lifts should be timed with the stopwatch during the performance as it has been done so far and then if there is a lift that is over the permitted time, the Referee must check it on his screen after conclusion of the program and that becomes the official time. If the times are recorded, then a note is made that the lift was electronically checked and the deduction is applied automatically by the computer

So if the referee does not call out a slightly over-long lift during the program, it will not be reviewed, and there will be no deduction.

However, if the referee does flag a lift using the stopwatch during the program, after the skate, the length of the lift is remeasured by the referee, using the video.