Goal setting | Golden Skate

Goal setting

pinesiskin

Rinkside
My daughter just turned 10 and competing at pre-pre level. Her coach is trying to fast track her and catch her up to the skaters who started earlier than her. He says his goal is to get her to juvenile level before she turns 12 because you can’t compete at juvenile level past 12, is that right? Or can’t move up? I’m still learning. He explained it and I thought I had it, but clearly didn’t!

Anyway, he wants her on the ice 12 hours a week (6 days) and off-ice three days a week. My daughter is up for all of this, mind you, she loves it. But she’s not setting long term “I want my double axel by 12” because she’s 10 and doesn’t understand the implications of competion levels etc. not to mention two year out goal setting. If you ask her if she wants a double axel she’d say, of course, I want quads 😂. She has landed several doubles but nothing consistent so far, and no where near double axel.

Anyway, what I want to know is, is this even a realistic goal of the coach’s? I know, I know, it depends on the kid, but on average? Is she going to be competing at Juvenile level in two years if she’s only at pre-pre? It’s a demanding schedule and I know she can handle it and loves it, but I keep thinking “to what end this schedule?” And if the “end” isn’t even realistic, I’d just rather know.

Thank you!

Last edited:

Ic3Rabbit

Former Elite, now Pro. ⛸️
Record Breaker
Country
Olympics
My daughter just turned 10 and competing at pre-pre level. Her coach is trying to fast track her and catch her up to the skaters who started earlier than her. He says his goal is to get her to juvenile level before she turns 12 because you can’t compete at juvenile level past 12, is that right? Or can’t move up? I’m still learning. He explained it and I thought I had it, but clearly didn’t!