Help for beginner adult! My feet are so sore while skating | Golden Skate

Help for beginner adult! My feet are so sore while skating

SkatersWaltz

On the Ice
I started group adult figure skating lessons this Winter. Since I'm a beginner, I started using a pair of recreational skates I already had from 10 years ago - Jackson Softec. After one class, my feet were in such pain, that I decided to scrap those skates and get new skates. I went to the local figure skating shop and got professionally fitted. I tried on about 4 pairs of skates. The best in-store fit were a pair of Risport RF 4 B.O. They were actually on sale since that brand no longer exists (apparently, it was replaced by Risport RF light). Anyways, I've been to 3 lessons since and my feet aren't doing any better, they are still really hurting, specifically the bottom of the foot and in the middle outside of the foot. I bought the Superfeet arch supports but they haven't helped. I haven't been able to skate for more than 15 minutes without needing to take my skates off and massage my feet before going back on the ice. Obviously, I can't continue skating if my feet keep hurting this much. Does anyone have any suggestions? Is it my weight that's the problem?

Height: 5 foot 5 1/2 inches
Weight: 250 pounds
Foot style: My big toe is virtually the same height as the next toe and the other 3 descend on an angle from there, each lower than the other.
Arches: Low to medium

I live in Ottawa, Ontario (Canada). I got my fitting from Figure 8 skate shop. I’m attending Worlds in Montreal so I’m open to trying on skates there as well.

Diana Delafield

Frequent flyer
Medalist
Country
Canada