If you could have a conversation with a coach, who would it be? | Golden Skate

If you could have a conversation with a coach, who would it be?

mrrice

Record Breaker
If I had the chance to speak with one of the many coaches I've seen over years, it would be Kori Ade. As a dance coach myself, I have often wanted to know what coaches say to their skaters. Not just when they're at the boards but, during their long practice sessions. Two of my favorite skaters are Jason Brown and Mariah Bell because they really exude joy when they skate. Smiles can be faked but joy comes from within and her students seem to have it almost every minute of every performance.

Last edited:
Lori Nichol (choreographer). I would ask how she goes about choosing music for each client, whether she likes to tailor the music to the skater's pre-existing technical capabilities, on-ice personality and performance skills, or whether she starts with the musical conception then challenges the skater to perform up to it. When she creates several programs for the same skater, does she have an overall plan or does each piece stand alone.

Last edited:

silverfoxes

Record Breaker
Alexei Mishin, because

1. he's a legend
2. he's a genius
3. he's been around forever and has seen it all
4. he's absolutely hilarious

Ideally I would like to visit him (and Mrs. Mishina) at his dacha, sample his wine and learn his secrets. ;)

slider11

Medalist
Marina Zoueva because I think she is brutally honest and would say how fabulous Tessa and Scott were in 2010 but how, perhaps due to Tessa's leg condition, Meryl and Charlie surpassed them in determination and sheer effort to excel in 2014. No conspiracy, no favoritism...just the way it was.

lilshorty

On the Ice
Frank Carroll. I wanna know what is his recipe for producing so many successful skaters over the years. Is he the same with all of them, or does he tailor his instruction to fit each skater.

noskates

Record Breaker