is 14 too late even if ive done ballet? | Golden Skate

is 14 too late even if ive done ballet?

amara_evelynn

Spectator
Im new around here and i was wondering if 13-14 is too old to start figure skating? I have had ~10 years of ballet experience and am now in the intermidiate-advanced classes and en pointe. Ive always wanted to try figure skating, however I also dont know if i should switch. My strong suit in ballet is jumps so i think that could help me with skating but i dont know. I would like to compete as well but I dont want to get to ahead of myself yet. I havent really seen anyone talking about them transitioning from ballet to skating and wanted to see if anyone could answer my question. Thank you for your time.

gliese

Final Flight
Country
United-States
You'll likely never get to elite levels (though it's totally possible). Johnny Weir started at 12 but his success is the exception, not the rule. I'm gonna tell you something though, I got my first axel when I was 12 with a really terrible coach. I did synchro for three years after that and decided I was never jumping again. When I turned 14 it was made clear to me that I needed to land all my double jumps after three years of only jumping axels and all other singles with terrible technique. I switched coaches got super close to a consistent double axel within 5 months. The got injured and then COVID happened right when I was ready to go back. Got back on the ice and I'm now working on that same double axel again. Fast progress CAN happen if you dedicate yourself to it.

My biggest advice:
- Don't let your fear take over, it's fake. Nothing about fear is real except for the fact that you're feeling it.
- Get a good coach that has regularly trained students to triples if possible.
- Find a facility with a strong club and room for off ice training. These clubs often have off ice classes and on ice group classes that will strengthen your skating and give you multiple opinions from successful coaches.