Skates for beginner adult / heel support | Golden Skate

Skates for beginner adult / heel support

rockers

Spectator
Hello! I have been skating for the past 6 months (took LTS + private lessons), and I’m in my late 20s (5’7”, ~120 lbs). I’ve mostly passed basic 8, and I could do waltz and toe loops. Currently learning salchows and brackets.

I’m using Jackson Artiste at the moment (~5 months as I was on hockey skates before). I have two issues with it:
1. They generally feel loose at the back, and I need to pull my laces tighter. The front part is pretty snug, and can be slightly tight. I could put two fingers at the back of my skates once my foot is in.
2. When landing single jumps/combos (multiple waltz/waltz+toe loop), my landing foot gets sore easily. Post skating, my heel on my landing foot would hurt. Is this something to do with the boots/insoles, or a muscle issue? If I don't do jumps that day, heels are OK the next day. Off-ice jumps are OK too.

I skate around 8 hours per week (1-2 hours per day). Folks at my rink mentioned that getting a pair of new blades would help with progress as well. Is this the right time to upgrade? If yes, any recommendations would be appreciated; I think my feet are slightly wide, and I'd prefer something light and comfy inside. I'm mostly interested in edges, turns, and step sequences; will probably only learn up to single jumps.

Thank you!

Last edited:

2sk8

Rinkside