So Auras aren't actually custom? | Golden Skate

So Auras aren't actually custom?

christy

On the Ice
I have extremely odd feet and have always had major problems buying skates. I've had to fit one foot then try to adapt the other boot to work reasonably well, but never managed to get skates that actually worked. Consequently I decided to give Auras a try as they're supposed to be custom made. So I got them and whilst one boot is a reasonable fit (but I' think will actually be too big once I try skating) the other one is completely wrong and has pressure / pain points everywhere.

My skate tech spent ages trying absolutely everything we could think of such as different insoles, heel lifts, reheating several times, punching out in various areas, remolding, and after nothing but horrendous pain I'm not sure what to try next so wondering what other people's experiences of Aura have been.

This is my first time trying customs and I was shocked that they provide a very poor quality standard (so not customized at all) insole, and that the boots themselves don't appear to have been made to fit my foot in any way. Is this normal for custom skates, or are Auras not really as custom as they claim to be?

kolyadafan2002

Fan of Kolyada
Final Flight
I have extremely odd feet and have always had major problems buying skates. I've had to fit one foot then try to adapt the other boot to work reasonably well, but never managed to get skates that actually worked. Consequently I decided to give Auras a try as they're supposed to be custom made. So I got them and whilst one boot is a reasonable fit (but I' think will actually be too big once I try skating) the other one is completely wrong and has pressure / pain points everywhere.