Suggestions for entry level skates/blades | Golden Skate

Suggestions for entry level skates/blades

Longhornliz

Final Flight
I know we already have a thread started about who makes the best high end skate boots and blades... but I'm a beginner and I definitely don’t need that much out of a skate right? I purchased some vinyl skates off of the internet that weren’t reinforced or lined so they didn’t have any ankle support... but I have noticed that some of the top names have inexpensive "recreational" skates and then there is also a group called "entry level".

Here is an example of a recreational skate by reidell http://skate-buys.com/ri110layerif.html

And here is an entry level http://skate-buys.com/ri112whrilaf.html

There is hardly any difference in price, and they look the exact same to me... will one skate perform differently than the other?

Basically I am looking for advice on what type of skate to buy if I just want to skate comfortably around the rink and learn to stroke or use the edges.... Should I purchase a 45-60 skate with blade package... or should I take the next step up to the 100 skates???

Help!!! I don’t understand much about skates.
Thanks!!

Last edited:

megsk8z

On the Ice
If you are going to go Riedell, I wouldn't go with less than the 121 series. They're probably a little more than $100US, but they are good for a beginning skater as they offer some support without overbooting (and thereby bringing the possibility of ankle injury when you do fall.......because you know you will, that's skating).