New skates | Golden Skate

New skates

Prettykitty314

Spectator
Hello,
I’m relatively new to figure skating, I first got on the ice about four years ago, but I only started really getting into it a year ago.
I ended last year at basic 6/freestyle 1, in a pair of American Athletic beginner skates.
To start this year I bought a pair of Jackson Freestyle skates.
I would really appreciate some tips on caring for them, especially how to seal the leather boot and soles (if I need to?).

Also: I bought the skates online (they fit great), I don't have any skate shops in my town, the only place that actually sells skates is Scheel’s (hockey skates only). The closest skate shop is four hours away.

Thank you.

joonieskates

Rinkside
Even if the skate shop is 4 hours away, next time you need skates, go. its not recommended at all to buy skates online because you haven't been properly fitted, jacksons might not be right for your feet. I'm not saying they AREN'T right but i'm just saying, never do it again. the 4 hour journey will be 100% worth it as you'll know you haven't wasted the money. i don't know how much you already know about skate care so i might say things you already know.

To answer the question, all i can think of is:

1) don't store them in hard guards. use a towel to dry off the blade AND sole (maybe the boot if it needs it, but i usually don't get the boot wet) and then put them in soakers. never let any of the blade rust.

2) i think you can get sno seal to waterproof the boots.

3) get a bag that is specifically for ice skates, the ones that are shaped like boots.

4) you can get a a leather polish to look after the leather. make sure that it is definitely for leather. i think edea makes one but i'm not sure.

5) when you tie your laces, don't wrap the lace around the ankle, it breaks the boot down prematurely. (I used to make this mistake but thankfully was educated not to do it)